Skip to main content





Church Hierarchy

While all episcopal sees are "holy", the expression "the Holy See" (without further specification) is normally used in international relations, as a metonym, (as well as in the canon law of the Catholic Church) to refer to the See of Rome viewed as the central government of the Catholic Church which is also legally considered a country like America or England.

The Holy See is The Pope. The Holy See acts and speaks for the whole Catholic Church.

He acts as a President or King or CEO of a business.
The Holy See (Latin: Sancta Sedes) is the episcopal jurisdiction of the Catholic Church in Rome, in which its Bishop is commonly known as the Pope. It is the preeminent episcopal see of the Catholic Church, forming the central government of the Church. As such, diplomatically, and in other spheres the Holy See acts and speaks for the whole Catholic Church. It is also recognized by other subjects of international law as a sovereign entity, headed by the Pope, with which diplomatic relations can be maintained.

The "Church" is a Catholic Country!
He is in command of 1.166 billion Latin and Eastern Catholic People around the world.

Holy See Credentials

Apostolic Nuncio of the Holy See Credentials
Vatican Ambassador His Excellency the Most Reverend Apostolic Nuncio of the Holy See is the the Pope's representative to the Catholic Church in various countries
Antigua and Barbuda established diplomatic relations with the Holy See on December 15, 1986. His Excellency the Most Reverend Emil Paul Tscherrig replaces His Excellency the Most Reverend Eugenio Sbarbaro, and brings much experience to his new tour of duty, having served in the Apostolic Nunciature in Uganda, Korea, Bangladesh and finally in the Secretariat of State (Vatican City). In addition to being Vatican Ambassador, the Most Reverend Emil Paul Tscherrig is also the Apostolic delegate, the Pope's representative to the Catholic Church in various countries.

Bishops and Civil Government:

With the collapse of the Western Empire in the 5th century, the bishops in Western Europe assumed a large part of the role of the former Roman governors. A similar, though less pronounced, development occurred in the East, where the Roman administrative apparatus was largely retained by the Byzantine Empire. In modern times, many an ancient diocese, though later divided among several dioceses, has preserved the boundaries of a long-vanished Roman administrative division. For Gaul, Bruce Eagles has observed that "it has long been an academic commonplace in France that the medieval dioceses, and their constituent pagi, were the direct territorial successors of the Roman civitates. The most usual term for the geographic area of a bishop's authority and ministry, the diocese, began as part of the structure of the Roman Empire under Diocletian. In Roman Catholicism, the pope is the bishop of the Diocese of Rome. He creates the other dioceses throughout the world and chooses their bishops. The efficient organization of the Roman Empire became the template for the organization of the church in the fourth century, particularly after Constantine's Edict of Milan. As the church moved from the shadows of privacy into the public forum it acquired land for churches, burials and clergy. Modern usage of 'diocese' tends to refer to the sphere of a bishop's jurisdiction. This became commonplace during the self-conscious "classicizing" structural evolution of the Carolingian empire in the 9th century, but this usage had itself been evolving from the much earlier parochia ("parish"), dating from the increasingly formalized Christian authority structure in the 4th century.